The Birthday Party’s “Live 81-82” to be pressed on vinyl for the first time

birthday party liveThough various live releases emerged over the course of the band’s existence, no full-length capturing of The Birthday Party was approved by the band themselves until Live 81-82 was first released back in 1999, nearly 20 years on from when the recordings took place.

An essential record, Live 81-82 stiches together tracks from a London date in 1981, a German show in Bremen in 1982 and a ringer cut from a show in Athens, Greece (a version of the Stooges’ ‘Funhouse’ with Jim Thirwell aka. Foetus on sax).

Until now Live 81-82 has never been pressed on vinyl. Finally coming out on July 29th, Live 81-82 is being made available on double vinyl with a gatefold sleeve and a CD inside. The tracklisting is the same as the original release.


  • A1. Junkyard
  • A2. A Dead Song
  • A3. The Dim Locator
  • A4. Zoo-Music-Girl
  • A5. Nick The Stripper


  • B1. Blast Off!
  • B2. Release The Bats
  • B3. Bully Bones
  • B4. King Ink
  • B5. (Sometimes) Pleasure Heads Must Burn


  • C1. Big-Jesus-Trash-Can
  • C2. Dead Joe
  • C3. The Friend Catcher
  • C4. 6″ Gold Blade
  • C5. Hamlet (Pow, Pow, Pow)


  • D1. She’s Hit
  • D2. Funhouse

via 4AD – The Birthday Party Live 81-82 To Be Pressed On Vinyl.

Get involved - leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s