Peter Murphy’s new album “Lion” tracklisting and release date

Peter-Murphy-Lion-300x297Peter Murphy’s new LP “Lion”, produced by Youth from Killing Joke, has a release date and track listing.

Peter Murphy returns with brand-new music late this spring as he releases his much-anticipated 10th album Lion, an 11-track collection produced by Killing Joke bassist Youth that the former Bauhaus frontman previewed in rough form over the PA before concerts on his 2013 tour and at a $750-a-head listening party in Los Angeles last fall.

While Murphy has not yet announced the album’s release, the digital version is now available to preorder via and with June 2 and May 30 release dates, respectively.

Murphy will preview the album with a limited-edition metallic-silver 7-inch single featuring a  dub mix of “Hang Up,” the album opener and the record’s first single, to be released on April 19 as part of Record Store Day. The 7-inch, available at participating independent record shops, will feature non-album track “I’m On Your Side” on the B-side.

The Amazon listings for Lion include streaming 30-second samples of each track, and judging by those previews, the record is sonically heavier and more electronic/atmospheric than its predecessor, 2011′s Ninth. Murphy previously has called the new album “a mixture of stuff, almost like operas for the dispossessed. It’s very romantic and very deep and emotional, quite symphonic in places, but then becomes, like, a rabble-rousing pirate sea shanty.”

Tracklist: Peter Murphy, Lion

  1. “Hang Up”
  2. “I Am My Own Name”
  3. “Low Tar Stars”
  4. “I’m On Your Side”
  5. “Compression”
  6. “Holy Clown”
  7. “The Rose”
  8. “The Ghost of Shokan Lake”
  9. “Eliza”
  10. “Loctaine”
  11. “Lion”

via Peter Murphy’s new album ‘Lion’ arrives in June following Record Store Day preview — slicing up eyeballs // 80s alternative music, college rock, indie.



Get involved - leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s